Space Opera Sci-fi byRuss Colchamiro Giveaway!

w- about the author

Russ Colchamiro is the author of the rollicking space adventure, Crossline, the zany SF/F backpacking comedy series Finders Keepers: The Definitive Edition, Genius de Milo, and Astropalooza, and is editor of the new SF anthology Love, Murder & Mayhem, all with Crazy 8 Press.

Russ lives in New Jersey with his wife, two ninjas, and crazy dog Simon, who may in fact be an alien himself. Russ has also contributed to several other anthologies, including Tales of the Crimson Keep, Pangaea, Altered States of the Union, Camelot 13, TV Gods 2, They Keep Killing Glenn, Camelot 13, and Brave New Girls.

He is now working on the first novel in a new series featuring his hardboiled private eye Angela Hardwicke, and the first of three collaborative novella projects.

Russ is repped by The Zack Compnay.

For more on and Russ’s books, you can visit www.russcolchamiro.com, follow him on Twitter @AuthorDudeRuss, and ‘like’ his Facebook author page www.facebook.com/RussColchamiroAuthor.

You can find and contact Russ Colchamiro here:

– Website: http://www.russcolchamiro.com

– Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RussColchamiroAuthor

– Twitter: https://twitter.com/AuthorDudeRuss

– Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4450877.Russ_Colchamiro

– Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Russ-Colchamiro/e/B004DWUP8I/

w- about the book

Crossline

Crossline

By Russ Colchamiro
Genre: Science Fiction/ Space Opera
Age category: Adult

Perfect for fans of Firefly, Flash Gordon, Stargate, and Escape from New York

Hotdog pilot Marcus Powell has been selected to test Taurus Enterprises’ Crossline prototype craft and its newly developed warp thrusters, which, if successful, will revolutionize space travel as we know it.

But during his jaunt across the stars, Powell is forced into a parallel universe — including a parallel Earth — where he finds himself at the center of an epic battle he may have been destined for all along.

Meanwhile, back home, reclusive oil tycoon and Taurus CEO Buddy Rheams Jr. — who sent Powell on that very mission — has a mysterious past and a secret agenda, one that could prevent Powell from ever making it back to his wife and little girl.

From author Russ Colchamiro, Crossline is a psychedelic, action-packed romp across time, space, and dimension that asks the question: once you cross the line, can you ever really go back?

You can find Crossline on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/43814672-crossline

You can buy Crossline here on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BSIPRJM

w- excerpt

Excerpt #1:

The warp engines were ready for the first of six return blasts it would take to get him back to Earth, when a blip came across the screen. Powell shifted toward the incoming message, but his short-range sensor interrupted him. Something in the Saturn rings. Video amplification revealed that among a cluster of particles was an odd-shaped fragment, with sharper, more reflective edges than he would expect. But he supposed that after debris crashed around over millions if not billions of years, who knew what was really out there? He looked again. Probably nothing of consequence. Just some lagging hallucination from the multiple warps.

As suspected. Just ice particles swirling around the planet. Billions of frozen blue ice particles floating in space that—

Powell focused his monitor on the third ring layer. Studying it more carefully, his sensors revealed that the particle cluster wasn’t in the Saturn ring, but among it. The fragment wasn’t ran- dom, a collection of dust, or some anomalous asteroid fragment.

It was another ship. Looking just like Crossline. And headed his way.

Excerpt #2:

An open-air man, Powell had been to cities. To Houston, and Denver, and San Francisco that one time for his cousin’s bachelor party. But there was something about the city ahead that made him shudder. It reminded him of his few trips to New York, that city that never sleeps. If you could make it there, the saying went, you could make it anywhere, and maybe even if that was true, Powell never understood why anyone would want to make it there, even if they could.

Powell had that rush he would get on the road to the launch pad. The pre-flight butterflies that caused his chest to tighten, his face to go flush, and the taste of adrenaline to coat his mouth, down to his teeth and gums. The difference between now and then was just so very small, but even if for just a few seconds, that intense queasiness would make him question in a shameful, shaky handed way if he knew what the hell he was doing, and consider that maybe he’d be better off hauling ass in the opposite direction and skipping out on the whole damn thing.

But then the intensity of the panic subsided—the urgency of the present snapping him back from his fears of a worst pos- sible future, one that would require him to confront the demon at the gates. He steadied himself, because like his father told him: Nerves only mean you ain’t completely stupid. Get over it, boy. There’s work to be done. The clarity and confidence of his father’s voice resonated more than ever.

w- guest post

Q&A w Russ Colchamiro

Share your writing journey with us.

Q: When did you know you wanted to be a writer?

Russ: Probably as young as about eight years old. It was always ‘in me’ to want to tell stories, but I didn’t start to come out of my shell until high school. The talent and instincts where there, but boy oh boy I had no polish or discipline at all! After college I got a little side-tracked by life and didn’t write much, but I became a reporter in my 20s, which really forced me to hone my craft. I then dove headfirst into fiction and haven’t looked back.

Q: How did you start writing?

Russ: I tinkered around with all sorts of things – song lyrics, essays, short stories, but my first novel was FINDERS KEEPERS, a science fantasy loosely based on a series of backpacking trips I took through Europe and New Zealand, set against a quest for a jar that contains the Universe’s DNA. If you like THE GOOD PLACE, HAROLD & KUMAR GO TO WHITE CASTLE, HITCHHIKER’S GUIDE, or the BILL& TED movies (third one coming out next year!), FINDERS KEEPERS might be for you.

In fact, just a few months ago I updated and revised this book and released it as FINDERS KEEPERS: THE DEFINITIVE EDITION.

Q: What else have you written?

Russ: After FINDERS KEEPERS, I wrote two sequels, GENIUS DE MILO and ASTROPALOOZA, and have short stories in about ten different anthologies, covering science fiction, fantasy, mystery, and pulp, mostly adult fiction, but some YA. I also edited a scifi mystery anthology called LOVE, MURDER & MAYHEM, which was tons of fun and has 15 stories from 15 different authors, including me. And, of course, I wrote a space opera, CROSSLINE.

Q: What can we expect in the future?

Russ: Goodness where do I start? LOL! I have a few more short stories coming out this year, which is fun, and I have a noir collection I’m leading, due out through Crazy 8 Press in the fall. It will include three murder mystery novellas, all adult fiction but with teen protagonists, set in the same fictional town across three different decades. There’s one novella each from me, Sawney Hatton, and Patrick Thomas. Should be fun.

I’m also wrapping up my first stand-alone novel featuring my hardboiled detective Angela Hardwicke, who has appeared in a few of my books already. I love this character, with plans to write an ongoing series with her. I’ve got about another half dozen projects in the pipeline as well. And new stuff pops up all the time.

Q: Tell me what inspired CROSSLINE.

Russ: When I first envisioned CROSSLINE in the late 1990s, it was going to be a comic book mini-series, although I eventually turned it into the novel.

My initial idea was a simple space adventure where a pilot is testing out new warp thrusters and, for reasons I won’t explain here, winds up getting forced through a wormhole. So the next natural question became… what’s on the other side?

From there the narrative quickly came together, where our hero Marcus Powell ends up on a parallel Earth, but with significant differences.

The more time he spends with these ‘other Earthers’ the more he sympathizes with their plight—they’re in a civil war of sorts—and feels compelled to help them, even though it puts his life in danger. Aiding their cause also physically takes him farther from what he wants—to get back home to his Earth and be reunited with his wife and daughter.

What I found most compelling was a man caught between worlds, unsure in which one he truly belongs. Marcus Powell is the ‘hero’ of the story, but this Universe is rich in characters, most of whom get their own arcs, all challenged to decide what they believe in most, and what they’re willing to do in order preserve those beliefs, or, in some case, change their minds in radical ways.

I didn’t intentionally start out to write a parallel Universe novel, but that’s where the story wanted to go. I’m glad it took me there.

w- giveaway

There is a tour wide giveaway for the blog tour of Crossline. These are the prizes you can win:

– one physical copy of Crossline by Russ Colchamiro (US Only)

– three e-copies of Crossline by Russ Colchamiro (INT)

For a chance to win, enter the rafflecopter below:

<a class=”rcptr” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1000e4f1316/&#8221; rel=”nofollow” data-raflid=”1000e4f1316″ data-theme=”classic” data-template=”” id=”rcwidget_1pnhq5xy”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

banner Lolas Blog Tours

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: